APIC Announces 2012 Leadership Members

January 22, 2012

The Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology (APIC) has announced it’s officers, Board of Directors, and new members of the Nominating and Awards Committee for 2012.

Michelle Farber, RN, CIC, an infection preventionist with Mercy Community Hospital in Coon Rapids, Minnesota, will serve as the 2012 APIC President.

Patti Grant, RN, BSN, MS, CIC will hold the position of president-elect until January 2013.  On that date, she will become APIC president.  Patti is the director of infection prevention and quality at Methodist Hospital for Surgery in Addison, Texas.

Linda Greene, RN, MPS, CIC will serve a two-year term as secretary.  She is the director of infection prevention for Rochester General Health System in Rochester, NY.

The Following APIC members have been elected or re-elected to serve on the APIC Board of Directors.  They will serve a two-year term beginning in January 2012:

  • Vickie Brown, RN, MPH, CIC.  Associate director, hospital epidemiology at University of North Carolina Health Care in Chapel Hill, N.C.
  • Linda Goss, MSN, APRN, ANP-BC, CIC, COHN-S.  Director of infection prevention and the vascular access specialist team at the University of Louisville Hospital in Louisville, Ky.
  • Mary Lou Manning, PhD, CRNP, CIC. Associate professor and director of the Doctor of Nursing Practice Program at the Thomas Jefferson University, School of Nursing in Philadelphia, Pa.
  • Connie Steed, RN, MSN, CIC. Director of infection prevention at the Greenville Hospital System University Medical Center in Greenville, S.C.
  • Sharon Williamson, MT(ASCP)SM, CIC. Infection prevention manager at Texas Health Presbyterian Dallas in Dallas, Texas.
  • Carole Guinane, RN, MBA. Vice president for ASC Clinical Operations at Novant Healthcare, Inc., in Charlotte, N.C.

Other members who will be continuing on the APIC Board of Directors in 2012 will include: Russell Olmsted, MPH, CIC; Jennie Mayfield, BSN, MPH, CIC; Linda “B” Burton, RN, BSN, CIC; Neil Pascoe, RN, BSN, CIC; Jolynn Zeller, RN, BS, CIC; and Clifton Orme, MBA.

Two APIC members were elected to serve on the Nominating and Awards Committee:

  • Loretta Litz Fauerbach, MS, CIC.  Director of infection prevention and control at Shands Hospital at the University of Florida in Gainesville, Fla.
  • Stephen Streed, MS, CIC. System director, epidemiology/infection control at HealthPark Medical Center in Fort Myers, Fla.


Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: